Selective High Schools


Related information


Contact Details

High Performing Students Unit
Phone: (02) 1300 880 367
Fax: (02) 02 9266 8435

Postal Address: Locked Bag 53 DARLINHURST NSW 1300


List of selective and agricultural high schools

There are 17 fully selective high schools, 25 high schools with selective classes (partially selective), a virtual selective stream (for students enrolled in government schools in rural and remote locations) and 4 agricultural high schools offering selective placement in Year 7.

There is also a senior high school, Sydney Secondary College, Blackwattle Bay Campus with selective classes offering entry to Years 11 and 12.

Partially selective high schools have both selective and community classes.

Agricultural high schools are selective high schools that emphasise the study of agriculture, with the boarding sections giving some priority to isolated students.

The virtual selective secondary school, Aurora College, uses computer technologies to connect students in rural and remote schools to become part of a broader, networked learning community. Students are enrolled in their home school while participating in English, Mathematics and Science through Aurora College.