Years 7 to 12 Assessment & Reporting

Students have a number of assessments during their high school years. These include:

Students may also elect to undertake the following assessment for:

Reporting software is available for schools whose testing authority is the NSW Department of Education and Training through the School Measurement and Reporting Toolkit (SMART).

School-based assessment and reporting Years 7 - 12

Each student's achievement and progress in class is assessed by their teacher(s). Teachers use a variety of ways to assess their students including observing their work in class and looking closely at the work they produce. They make assessments of their students' progress throughout the year.

Teachers will also make judgements twice a year of each student's achievement compared with the expectations described in the syllabuses for each KLA subject. Their judgements are made on a 5 point achievement scale, using A-E or the word descriptors; Outstanding, High, Sound, Limited and Basic. Schools have the option to use either A-E or these words when reporting to a child's parents on the written report provided by each school twice a year.

The policy in public schools for Curriculum planning and programming, assessing and reporting to parents, K - 12 is on the DET policies website.

The Board of Studies provides information about assessing and reporting student achievement in each KLA against the common A - E scale through the Assessment Resource Centre.


Copyright for this website is owned by the State of New South Wales through the Department of Education. The Department of Education supports and encourages the dissemination and exchange of publicly funded information and endorses the use of the Australian Governments Open Access and Licensing Framework (AusGOAL) ( Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence ( This allows you to share and adapt this material for any purpose as long as attribution is given to: © State of New South Wales (Department of Education) 2015.
For more information go to