Secondary Numeracy Assessment Programs (SNAP)

The Secondary Numeracy Assessment Program (SNAP) was administered to all Year 7 students in government schools and interested non-government schools in NSW. All schools had the opportunity for their students to be re-tested in Year 8.

The Secondary Numeracy Assessment Program (SNAP) is a curriculum-based assessment, testing students' knowledge and skills in particular aspects of numeracy. The test content was drawn primarily from the Mathematics K-6 syllabus and related specifically to the numeracy needs of the secondary Key Learning Areas. The aspects of numeracy tested are:

  • Numeracy problem solving: asking appropriate numeracy questions, using strategies to solve problems, communicating with appropriate numeracy terminology, checking solutions to problems, providing reasons for solutions, relating numeracy skills in one situation to the numeracy skills needed in another situation, using appropriate instruments.
  • Knowledge and skills in Number, Patterns and Algebra, Data, Measurement and Space and Geometry.

The SNAP test consists of three sections: extended responses, short responses and connected responses.

The National Assessment Program

In 2008 The National Assessment Program - Literacy and Numeracy was introduced for all students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9.

The purpose of the National Assessment Program - Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is to assess the literacy and numeracy learning of students in all Australian schools.

For further information on NAPLAN go to:

NAPLAN National


NAPLAN for Parents NSW


Copyright for this website is owned by the State of New South Wales through the Department of Education. The Department of Education supports and encourages the dissemination and exchange of publicly funded information and endorses the use of the Australian Governments Open Access and Licensing Framework (AusGOAL) ( Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence ( This allows you to share and adapt this material for any purpose as long as attribution is given to: © State of New South Wales (Department of Education) 2015.
For more information go to