Besides English; the languages offered in Years 7 to 10 include Arabic, Chinese, Classical Greek, French, German, Hebrew, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Modern Greek, Russian, Spanish, Turkish and Vietnamese.

Syllabus Resources

A syllabus is a document that gives teachers an outline of what students are to be taught in a specific subject or learning area.

The syllabus and other supporting material for all Year 7-10 courses is available from the Board of Studies. Each syllabus is listed by the name of the language.


Copyright for this website is owned by the State of New South Wales through the Department of Education. The Department of Education supports and encourages the dissemination and exchange of publicly funded information and endorses the use of the Australian Governments Open Access and Licensing Framework (AusGOAL) ( Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence ( This allows you to share and adapt this material for any purpose as long as attribution is given to: © State of New South Wales (Department of Education) 2015.
For more information go to