Related Information


Related Links


Contact Details

Riverina Regional Office, Albury
521 Macauley Street
Albury   NSW   2640
T 6051 4300

Riverina Regional Office, Deniliquin
Harfleur Street
Deniliquin   NSW   2710
T 03 5898 3700

Riverina Regional Office, Griffith
104 – 110 Banna Avenue
Griffith    NSW    2680
T 02 6961 8100

Riverina Regional Office, Wagga Wagga
Level 2, 76 Morgan Street
Wagga Wagga   NSW   2650
T 02 6937 3800

Regional Director’s Unit
Level 4, 76 Morgan Street
Wagga Wagga   NSW   2650
T 02 6937 3871


Welcome to the Riverina region

Our region encompasses a diverse range of public schools in terms of size and location, with each school providing quality education, extensive learning opportunities and innovative teaching practices to the students of the Riverina.

As part of the NSW public education system, our 194 regional schools welcome all students, regardless of background, ability, socio-economic status or ethnicity. In fact the very strength of each public school is that it seeks to educate together the children of the Riverina so that they may grow up appreciating the individual differences that collectively become the strengths of a community.

Why choose a Riverina public school?
Riverina public schools offer a wonderful range of experiences and opportunities for student development from Pre-school to Year 12 and beyond. Children thrive in the challenging and supportive environment offered in our schools – where they learn to value excellence, independent thinking, leadership, care, fairness and participation.

High achievers
In both primary and secondary school, NSW public school students are achieving academic results that are comparable with the world’s top performers.

Specialist consultants
Every public school has access to a broad network of professional curriculum consultants who work with our teachers to ensure that students are experiencing quality teaching in every area of learning.

Qualified support
Within the Riverina, the physical, emotional and intellectual well-being of all students is a core priority within every public school. As part of an extensive government system, NSW public schools have access to a wide network of qualified student counsellors and advisers to support students and help them with their learning and development.

Extensive opportunities
The breadth of subjects, opportunities and expertise offered to public school students in the Riverina is fantastic. In addition to the wide range of core subjects on offer, our extra-curricular programs include:

  • regional camps for drama, music, writing, creative arts and dance;
  • debating and public speaking competitions;
  • vocational education and training courses;
  • HSC study days;
  • gifted and talented programs;
  • sporting competitions at school, regional and state level –
    in athletics, team sports and swimming;
  • leadership and peer support;
  • scientific and environmental innovation;
  • excursions and cultural development; and
  • the Schools Spectacular and Talent Development Project.

Ongoing professional development
NSW public schools understand the importance of continuous training and development of our teachers to ensure that classroom learning remains of the highest standard. All Riverina teachers are able to keep up-to-date with the latest quality teaching practices and network with peers through our regional professional development program.

Innovative programs
Riverina teachers are well known for their enthusiasm for new ideas and their ability to embrace innovative teaching practices. From the smallest country school to the largest secondary school in the region, Riverina public school teachers are creating relevant, challenging and engaging lessons that encourage a love of learning in our students.

Education partnerships
Public school students in the Riverina benefit greatly from the many learning partnerships that exist between primary and secondary public schools, TAFE NSW and Charles Sturt University. These partnerships not only enhance the variety of subjects and learning opportunities offered in our public schools, they also assist students in finding employment and/or moving into tertiary study.

Quality support for schools
Our regional staff support our schools in achieving the best possible learning outcomes for students. Our offices are located in Wagga Wagga, Albury, Griffith and Deniliquin. The team provides strong support for learning through individuals and teams with expertise in curriculum, student welfare, disabilities support and equity programs.

High academic outcomes, quality teaching practices, extensive curriculum opportunities, strong community values, excellent student support and a focus on innovative learning – six good reasons to enrol your child in your local public school.

Go to our list of Riverina schools to find out more about a specific school or contact your nearest regional office to speak with our regional staff.

About our Regional Director

Colin Parker has been the Regional Director for the Riverina since the beginning of 2004. Mr Parker started his career with the Department of Education as a primary school teacher at Edgeworth Heights Public School in the Lake Macquarie area in 1976. Since then he has held a number of executive positions in schools, including principal of Gunning Public School, South Bathurst Public School and Lithgow Public School. Mr Parker also spent several years as the primary coordinator at the RAAF School in Malaysia. Prior to his appointment as Regional Director, Mr Parker was the District Superintendent for the Wagga Wagga District and Acting Director for Distance Education.

Mr Colin Parker - Regional Director, Riverina

Copyright for this website is owned by the State of New South Wales through the Department of Education. The Department of Education supports and encourages the dissemination and exchange of publicly funded information and endorses the use of the Australian Governments Open Access and Licensing Framework (AusGOAL) ( Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence ( This allows you to share and adapt this material for any purpose as long as attribution is given to: © State of New South Wales (Department of Education) 2015.
For more information go to