Student wellbeing

On 1 December 2014, the Minister announced a protocol on Information Sharing between principals and schools across the three education sectors. It clarifies the circumstances when information schools hold on students should, or must be shared. This includes when a student may be transitioning between schools, including between school sectors.

The protocol will support students to make a successful transition when they are moving between schools and sectors.

The protocol can be accessed from the following link:

School Communities Working Together

NSW public schools provide safe learning environments for young people to learn and succeed. We achieve this by promoting positive social behaviour, providing support to vulnerable students and building strong links with parents, carers and school communities.

The NSW Department of Education, the Catholic Education Commission NSW and the Association of Independent Schools of NSW have collaborated to develop a strategy to address anti-social and extremist behaviour in all NSW schools.

Ensuring our schools remain safe is a shared commitment between parents, students and school communities. To support this, fact sheets have been prepared for students and parents outlining what to do if you have concerns and where to seek further advice and support.

Get up-to-date information during the bushfire season (1 October - 31 March) should there be adverse weather conditions or bushfire activity.

  •  Childhood drowning


Copyright for this website is owned by the State of New South Wales through the Department of Education. The Department of Education supports and encourages the dissemination and exchange of publicly funded information and endorses the use of the Australian Governments Open Access and Licensing Framework (AusGOAL) ( Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence ( This allows you to share and adapt this material for any purpose as long as attribution is given to: © State of New South Wales (Department of Education) 2015.
For more information go to