Student Leadership and SRCs


Contact Details

Student Welfare Directorate
Email: Student Leadership

Search here for your local school contact details.

Search here for regional Student Welfare Consultant contact details.


Student Leadership Programs in Primary Schools

There is great interest and activity in primary schools in student leadership.

Primary schools report that involving students in leadership activities is one of the most pratical and helpful strategies for gaining the cooperation of students and increasing the value that they and their families place on schooling.

Student Leadership Programs in Primary Schools

The Framework aims to assist primary school communities, under the leadership of the school principal, to reflect on the school's traditions and practices relating to student leadership.


Schools parliaments provide an opportunity for students to participate in the running of their primary school and are a vehicle for them to express their opinions and participate actively in decision making.


Many primary schools operate Student Representative Councils (SRCs).  SRCs are a NSW public school tradition. An SRC is a group of students in a school elected by their fellow students to represent all students in the school and who organise ways for students to participate in school life. SRCs work democratically to represent the student body in school decision-making. Students work together, with help from a staff member, to improve school life and to contribute students' ideas.


Copyright for this website is owned by the State of New South Wales through the Department of Education. The Department of Education supports and encourages the dissemination and exchange of publicly funded information and endorses the use of the Australian Governments Open Access and Licensing Framework (AusGOAL) ( Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence ( This allows you to share and adapt this material for any purpose as long as attribution is given to: © State of New South Wales (Department of Education) 2015.
For more information go to